top of page
Search
  • Samuel Telanoff

Blog Post #7

I applied for two different majors in college: mechanical engineering and economics/mathematics. I decided on mechanical engineering because I had a ton of fun in PLTW doing actual mechanical engineering in class, and I figured I'd have a fun time with a career in mechanical engineering. I chose mechanical engineering as my major of choice for most of the schools I applied to, but I also applied as an economics major for a couple colleges. I applied for econ at schools like Harvard because they don't necessarily have a strong engineering program and I figured I would get more out of the school if I studied economics instead of engineering.


I don't really have a place that I really want to work at if I end up going to a school where I study mechanical engineering, but it'd be cool to work somewhere like JPL maybe. And if I end up doing economics I'd like to end up working in investment banking at Goldman Sachs or Morgan Stanley, or maybe do real estate idk. Imagine that, a bernie bro working at Goldman Sachs.


One mechanical engineer that inspires me is Nikola Tesla, a Serbian-American inventor and engineer. Tesla is most famous for his work in electrical and mechanical engineering; he discovered the rotating magnetic field and developed the three-phase system of electric power transmission. If it weren't for Thomas Edison, Tesla would most likely be credited for the invention of the lightbulb as well.


Tesla attended college in Europe, studying engineering and physics at Technical University in Austria and the University of Prague, however he never received a degree. He worked at Continental Edison before emigrating to the United States in 1884.


I like how Tesla worked on a variety of things throughout his career, like wind turbines, electric coils, broadcasting towers, currents, and more. I don't like how financially illiterate Tesla was though, he constantly had to ask for money from others.

Five words I would use to describe Tesla are innovative, driven, genius, underrated, and dead. I chose to research Tesla because he is an interesting character. Also, much of the world-changing work Tesla has discovered has been overshadowed by other engineers like Thomas Edison, so I decided to show some love to the homie.



Work Cited:

Hunt, Inez Whitaker. “Nikola Tesla.” Encyclopædia Britannica, Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., 3 Jan. 2020, www.britannica.com/biography/Nikola-Tesla.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog Post #6

The biggest challenge we've experienced with our capstone project is figuring out how to implement our solution. We didn't have much trouble with the identification and research of the problem, nor di

Blog Post #5

The clock hath struck midnight on Cinderella's veil of High School. The fairy godmother's magical spell of diligence and dedication has faded away, and senioritis has come in its stead. Hours become d

Blog Post #4

Well, I completely forgot that this blog post was a thing that we had to do and I am currently writing this at 12:30 AM. I was literally lying in bed for like ten minutes or so, my eyes were closed an

bottom of page